Thought of the Day

The Yoga Sutras are built on a foundation of the Bhagavad Gita. In the Yoga Sutras, Patanjali prescribes adherence to eight "limbs" or steps (the sum of which constitute "Ashtanga Yoga",) to quiet one's mind and merge with the infinite.


What are Astanga Yogas ?


Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi.


Ashtanga yoga consists of the following levels: 


1. Yama = abstentions  (Abstention is the practice of refraining from something)

These are 5 in number 


• ahimsa = abstention from violence = non-violence to all beings

• satya = abstention from lying = truth

• asteya = abstention from theft

• brahma charya = abstention from sexual activity

• aparigraha = abstention from possessions


2. Niyama = observances


These also are 5 in number: 

• Saucha = purity 

• Santosha = contentment

• Tapas = austerities

• Svadhyaya = study

• Ishvarapranidhana = surrender to God



3. Asana - Postures of the body

4. Pranayama - Control of prana or vital breath

5. Pratyahara - Abstraction; "is that by which the senses do not come into contact with their objects

6. Dharana - Fixing the attention on a single object; concentration

7. Dhyana - Meditation

8. Samadhi - Super-conscious state or trance



The information, stories, examples and advice are expressed and presented by our sages, seers, pundits and commentators in various forms, eras and in different contexts.  It is reproduced for our devotees and visitors to learn, adopt and get adept as per their belief and abilities.  

Sri Vishnu Shiva Mandir can not be held liable, responsible or accountable for any loss, missed opportunities, harm or injuries caused by any advice or teachings presented on this website.  

Statements are generic, culture-specific, advisory and symbolic that may not be suitable for every person and/or circumstances.  Devotees or followers are cautioned and encouraged to consider their needs, abilities, environment and consequences, and seek specialist advice before imitating, emulating or practising any of the above.


Vishnu Shiva Mandir Border